Skhumba leads 2017 Comics’ Choice Awards nominees

Comedian Skhumba Hlophe's star keeps rising

On Wednesday, the nominees for the Comics’ Choice Awards were announced and for the second consecutive year, Skhumba is the most nominated comedian, with four nominations.

The comedian has been nominated for the following awards:

  • The Non-English Comic Award
  • The Flying Solo Award
  • The Breakthrough Award
  • The Savanna Comic of the Year Award

“I tell true stories, but in a comedic way. I talk about life as it happens, I talk about what people see on TV everyday, my home life and my experiences growing up,” Skhumba said in an interview with DESTINY MAN

“What people don’t know about me is that I’m not a comedian all day. People see me and think I’m about to make them laugh. I don’t play around with jokes – they are my job.”

READ MORE: Mzansi Magic launches new talent awards

Celeste Ntuli is right behind Skhumba, with three nominations in the same categories, bar the Breakthrough Award. She is tied with Carvin H Goldstone and Loyiso Gola, who also have three nominations this year.

This year, Cyril Green will be honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award. He rose to stardom in the 1970s, working as an actor, author, philanthropist and talkshow host.

See full list of winners below:

Savanna Newcomer of the Year
Thabiso Mhlongo
Tsitsi Chiumya
Bongani Dube
Eric Jansen
Thabo Kgaphola

Intermediate Award
Ebenhaezer Dibakwane
Virgil Prins
Glen Biderman-Pam
Noko Moswete
Mo Mothebe

Non-English Comic Award
Collen Chepi
Skhumba Hlophe
Celeste Ntuli
Mashabela Galane
Thapelo King Flat Mametja

Flying Solo Award
Skhumba Hlophe
Carvin H Goldstone
Celeste Ntuli
Loyiso Gola
Mashabela Galane

Comics’ Pen Award
Mojak Lehoko
Trevor Noah
Muzi Dlamini
Lazola Gola
Karabo Lediga

Nando’s Best Friend of Comedy
Goliath & Goliath
David Kau – Blacks Only
Carvin H Goldstone
On Fire Comedy
Armchair – Gino Fernandez

Savanna Pan-African Comic of the Year
Patrick Idringi
Bright Okpocha
Carl Joshua Ncube
Tshepo Mpiti
Fernando Filipe

Breakthrough Award
Skhumba Hlophe
Alfred Adriaan
Loyiso Gola
Robby Collins
Tumi Morake

Savanna Comic of the Year
Skhumba Hlophe
Loyiso Gola
Carvin H Goldstone
Celeste Ntuli
Kagiso “KG” Mokgadi

Lifetime Achiever recipient
Cyril Green