Inspiriting Fifty is a global initiative that’s aimed at shining a spotlight on leading and inspirational women working in the technology sector and to serve as role models that other women within the industry can look up to.

Inspiring Fifty co-founder Janneke Niessen says that the initiative is based on the philosophy that “if she see it, she can be it”.

“We are excited about all these women who have been given the opportunity to create awareness of their roles in the technology and innovation sectors and encourage more women to join the force,” Niessen says.

This is the first time the initiative will be hosted in a country outside of Europe, having started in the Netherlands, before expanding to other European countries, including France, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland and Denmark.

“Inspiring Fifty South African will be part of the European platform of talented women in technology and innovation. It will show the calibre of female talent available in South Africa and change the persisting perception about Africa in Europe. There is so much talent here in Africa and now with this amazing list of women, the Inspiring Fifty South Africa, we have the results to prove it,” says Consul General of the Kingdom of the Netherlands Bonnie Horbach.

Here is the full list of women involved in the initiative in SA:

Aisha Pandor – co-founder, SweepSouth
Anita Loots –Head of African Planning, SKA project
Anitha Ramsuran – Manager of Innovation Skills Development, Technology Innovation Agency
Anne Githuku-Shongwe – founder and CEO, AFROES Transformational Games
Anusuya Chinsamy – professor and Head Department of Biological Sciences, University of Cape Town
Audrey Verhaeghe – Chairperson, Innovation Summit
Barbara Mallinson – founder and CEO, Obami
Boitumelo Menyatswe – founder, Minderz
Darlene Menzies – founder and CEO, SMEasy and Finland
Dr Mmaki Jantjies – Head of the Information Systems Department, University of the Western Cape
Adriana Marais– Head of Innovation, SAP Africa
Ellen Fischat – Managing Director, Silicon Cape
Ellie Hagopian – CEO, Nomosphere
Emma Dicks –founder and Director, Code for Cape Town
Esther Titilayo Akinlabi– Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, School of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering at University of Johannesburg
Fikiswa Mazola – Deputy Director: Space Science and Technology, Department of Science and Technology
Hema Vallabh, founder – WomHub
Julie Cleverdon, Director – Cape Town Science Centre
Kim Normand Dobrin – Founder of The Tomorrow Trust
Lethabo Motswaledi – CEO and co-founder, 3D Power
Lindiwe Matlali – founder and CEO, Africa Teen Geeks
Lynn Wilson – Systems Manager: HR Information Management, TFG
Magda Wierzycka – CEO, Sygnia
Maximillian Kaizen – co-founder, Treeshake
Mickey Mashale – Managing Executive and Head of Region, Vodacom
Mokhundu Macaba – Primary school teacher, Ngwanamago Primary
Nafisa Akabor – freelance technology journalist for Forbes Woman Africa, DESTINY, Wired to the Web
Ndoni Mcunu – co-founder, Black Women in Science
Ngwako Lethabo Ramohlale – CEO, Nunnovation
Nneile Nkholise – founder, Likoebe Innovation Consultants
Nokuthula Ndlovu – founder and Strategic Engagement Partner, Limit Breakers Global Foundation & Barclays Africa Group
Nomso Faith Kana – MD, Sun ’n Shield 84 Technologies, Blaze Away SA, Taungana Africa
Nothando Moleketi – COO, ReWare
Nunu Ntshingila – Head, Facebook Africa
Phadiela Cooper – Principal, COSAT High School
Pontsho Maruping – Councillor, South African Council for Space Affairs
Portia Maurice – Director, Nehanda Group
Pria Chetty – Regional Director, EndCode
Rapelang Rabana – founder and CEO, Rekindle Learning
Regina Luki Kgatle – founder and co-founder, 67 Games, WeSmooth
Saidah Nash Carter – Head of Strategic Partnerships and Innovation, Thomson Reuters
Samantha Wright – blogger, YouTuber, content creator, TechGirl
Sibongile Sambo – founder and CEO, SRS Aviation Ltd
Sibongiseni Tunzelana Thotsejane – CIO, Flavalite
Stephanie Cowper – CEO and co-founder, BeSpecular
Suzana Moreira – founder, Mowoza
Vere Shaba – owner and Director, Shaba & Ramplin Green Building Solutions
Videsha Proothveerajh – Country Manager Southern Africa, Intel
Xoliswa Kakana – CEO, ICT-Works
Yolisa Kani – Public Policy Head, Uber SA