Both Celeste Ntuli and Skhumba Hlope are nominated in four categories each. Ntuli is nominated in the Native Tongue, Game Changer, Flying Solo and in a new category introduced this year, the Comedy G Award.

Hlope was the most nominated comedian last year and this year again he has also been nominated in the Native Tongue, Flying Solo, the Gamechanger and the Savanna Comic of the Year category.

The pair are closely followed by Loyiso Gola and Carvin H Goldstone, who each have three nominations.

READ MORE: Owning comedy

This has been a record year for the Annual South African Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards with a massive spike in entries. As many as 272 South African comedians are vying for one of the 10 awards, while 53 entered from the continent to be crowned the Savanna Pan-African Comic of the Year.

There were 17 comedians honoured in the Lifetime Achievement category. There is also great excitement about the new category that’s been announced, The Comedy G Award.

This award is launched to celebrate the stalwarts of the industry, it recognises the comedians who produce great comedy night after night; the ones who simply grab the mic and work the room.

The nominees were announced at a press lunch at The Goliath Comedy Club on Wednesday but we’ll have to wait to see who’ll leave with the Waldo at the main awards event on 8 September at The Lyric Theatre.

READ MORE: Skhumba the most nominated comedian at Comics’ Choice Awards

Here is the list of some of the nominees in different categories:

Comedy G Award

David Kau

Marc Lottering

Loyiso Gola

Alan Committie

Celeste Ntuli

Savanna Newcomer of the Year 

Bongani Dube

Lindy Johnson

Tsitsi Chiumya

Gilli Apter

Nonto Rubushe

Next Level Award

Eric Jansen

Phil de Lange

Thabiso Mhlongo

Chik Aljoy

Ebenhaezer Dibakwane

The Native Tongue Award

Skhumba Hlophe

Thapelo King Flat

Celeste Ntuli

Mashabela Galane

Siya Seya

The Flying Solo Award

Carvin Goldstone

Celeste Ntuli

Loyiso Gola

Alfred Adriaan

Skhumba Hlophe

The Comics’ Pen Award

Kagiso Lediga

Christopher Steenkamp

Thenjiwe Moseley

Lazola Gola

Happy Hour by Dalin Oliver & Carl Weber

Best Friend of Comedy Award

On Fire Comedy

Goliath Comedy Club

Gino Fernandez

#ER Comedy What What

#BlacksOnly – David Kau

The Game Changer Award 

Carvin Goldstone

Skhumba Hlophe

Loyiso Gola

Celeste Ntuli

Kagiso Lediga

The Savanna Comic of the Year Award

Carvin Goldstone

Mpho Modikoane

Alfred Adriaan

Skhumba Hlophe

Robby Collins

The Savanna Pan-African Comic of the Year

Basketmouth (Nigeria)

Carl Joshua Ncube (Zimbabwe)

Kansiime Anne Entertainer (Uganda)

Salvado (Uganda)

Charles Manase (Botswana)