South Africa and Nigeria lead the Mama nominations with multiple artists grabbing a handful of categories. For the Best Male and Females categories, Donald and DJ C’ndo represent SA. In the Best Group category, SA dominates with Mi Casa, Mafikizolo and Big Nuz each garnering a nod.

Heavy-K and Uhuru bagged nominations in the Best Newcomer group. The Kalawa Jazmee recording artists have enjoyed a good year, both winning awards at the Metro FM Awards held in Durban at the beginning of the year. They have also been nominated at the South African Music Awards (Samas) for Record of the Year.

In the best Pop category, SA artists are expected to make a clean sweep with four musicians clinching nods. Danny K, Goldfish, LCNVL and Matthew Mole will go up against Fuse ODG of Ghana. In the Best Alternative category, an SA act will definitely take this group as all five artists are local.

Here is the full list of nominees:

Here’s the full list of MAMA nominations:


Best Male:

  • Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
  • Davido (Nigeria)
  • Diamond (Tanzania)
  • Donald (South Africa)
  • Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female:

  • Arielle T (Gabon)
  • Chidinma (Nigeria)
  • DJ C’ndo (South Africa)
  • Efya (Ghana)
  • Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Group:

  • Big Nuz (South Africa)
  • Mafikizolo (South Africa)
  • Mi Casa (South Africa)
  • P Square (Nigeria)
  • Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best New Act:

  • Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  • Heavy K (South Africa)
  • Phyno (Nigeria)
  • Stanley Enow (Cameroon)
  • Uhuru (South Africa)

Best Live Act:

  • 2face (Nigeria)
  • Fally Ipupa (DRC)
  • Flavour (Nigeria)
  • Dr Malinga (South Africa)
  • Zakes Bantwini (South Africa)

Best Collaboration:

  • Amani ft Radio and Weasel – ‘Kiboko Changu’ (Kenya/Uganda)
  • Diamond feat Davido – ‘Number One’ (Remix) (Tanzania/Nigeria)
  • Mafikizolo feat May D – ‘Happiness’ (South Africa/Nigeria)
  • R2bees feat Wizkid – ‘Slow Down’ (Ghana/Nigeria)
  • Uhuru feat DJ Buckz, Oskido, Professor, Yuri Da Cunha – ‘Y-tjukutja’ (South Africa/Angola)

Artist of the Year:

  • Davido (Nigeria)
  • Mafikizolo (South Africa)
  • Mi Casa (South Africa)
  • P Square (Nigeria)
  • Uhuru (South Africa)

Song of the Year:

  • Davido- ‘Skelewu’ (Nigeria)
  • DJ Clock feat Beatenberg – ‘Pluto’ (Remember Me) (South Africa)
  • DJ Ganyani feat FB – ‘Xigubu’ (South Africa)
  • DJ Kent feat The Arrows –‘Spin My World Around’ (South Africa)
  • Dr Sid feat Don Jazzy – ‘Surulere’ (Nigeria)
  • KCee – ‘Limpopo’ (Nigeria)
  • Mafikizolo feat Uhuru ‘Khona’ (South Africa)
  • Mi Casa- ‘Jika’ (South Africa)
  • P Square – ‘Personally’ (Nigeria)
  • Yuri Da Cunha -‘Atchu Tchu Tcha’ (Angola)

Best Hip Hop:

  • AKA (South Africa)
  • Ice Prince (Nigeria)
  • Khuli Chana (South Africa)
  • Olamide (Nigeria)
  • Sarkodie (Ghana)

Best Pop:

  • Danny K (South Africa)
  • Fuse ODG (Ghana)
  • Goldfish (South Africa)
  • LCNVL (South Africa)
  • Mathew Mole (South Africa)

Best Alternative:

  • Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)
  • Michael Loman (South Africa)
  • Nakhane Toure (South Africa)
  • Parlotones (South Africa)
  • Shortstraw (South Africa)

Best Francophone:

  • Arielle T (Gabon)
  • Espoir 2000 (Ivory Coast)
  • Ferre Gola (DRC)
  • Toofan (Togo)
  • Youssoupha (Congo)

Best Lusophone:

  • Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
  • JD (Angola)
  • Lizha James (Mozambique)
  • Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
  • Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)


Personality of the Year:

  • Chimamanda Adiche – Writer (Nigeria)
  • Omotola Jalade Ekeinde – Actress (Nigeria)
  • Trevor Noah- Comedian (South Africa)
  • Lupita Nyong’o – Actress (Kenya)
  • Yaya Toure – Soccer Player (Cote d’Ivoire)

Transform Today by Absolut

  • Anisa Mpungwe (Tanzania)
  • Clarence Peters (Nigeria)
  • Leti Arts (Ghana)
  • Rasty (South Africa)

Voting for the MTV Africa Music Awards is open at from 16 April 2014 until midnight on 4 June 2014.