The Johannesburg metro was the last to be counted, and the release of the city’s results officially brought the 2016 local government elections to a close on Saturday night.

According to the IEC elections dashboard at the results centre in Pretoria, the ANC had 44,55%, the DA 38,37% and the EFF 11,09% of the votes.

The ANC won 121 seats – 84 ward and 37 proportional representation (PR) – while the DA got 104 seats, 51 ward and 53 PR seats.

The EFF got 30 PR seats, the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP) five and the African Independent Congress (AIC) four PR seats. The Freedom Front (FF) Plus, Al- Jamah, United Democratic Movement (UDM), African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP), Congress of the People (Cope) and the Patriotic Aliance got one PR seat each.

READ MORE: DA clinches Tshwane as ANC takes Ekurhuleni

Much like the other Gauteng metros, Tshwane and Ekurhuleni, the outcome resulted in a hung council, as no single party achieved more than 50%.

The Gauteng ANC is concerned that it did not receive more than 50% of the vote in some of the province’s municipalities and will reflect on the issues voters had raised.

“We will not shy away from some weaknesses that have been identified, but will engage communities throughout the province to find speedy and meaningful solutions,” it said in a statement on Saturday.

Support for the ANC dropped to below 50% in all three metros in the province. It lost Tshwane, with 41,22% of the vote as opposed to the DA’s 43,12%.

READ MORE: ANC worried about Zuma effect on elections

Along with Johannesburg, the party also held on to Ekurhuleni, with 48,64% of the vote, while the DA acquired 34,15% in that metro.

The ANC said it had already started negotiating with other political parties to form coalitions.

It commended the IEC, state security agencies and voters for ensuring peaceful, free and fair elections.

“We do not take any of the support and confidence given to us by the people of our province for granted.”

Source: News24 Wire