Bafana Bafana will clash with the Super Eagles in the opening game of the Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo State, Nigeria.

Baxter, who was announced as the new coach earlier in May, following the axing of Shakes Mashaba, said he believed that the team would overcome its challenges.

“I am back in this seat because I have belief – I believe that with the wealth of talent in this country we can qualify for things. While I know that this position goes with a lot of criticism, I also believe that if we work together as a country and take out all the negativity, we can get somewhere. So my appeal is, with your support, this national team can be great again – criticise if you must, but support is crucial,” said Baxter.

The team has been a disappointment over the past couple of years and have failed to perform to expectations.

However, Baxter is confident that he will make a difference. Although there were mixed reactions over his squad, the coach says he is happy with his selection.

“I am quite pleased with the squad we have assembled. We have a small element of development with a couple of young players. We also have some players who are returning to the squad – the likes of Zungu and Rantie.

“We have players who have been outstanding in the PSL the whole season. We also have continuity with a number of players that has invested much time in and we have them in the team. I believe we have a good mix,” said Baxter.



Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Darren Keet (Wits), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United).


Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs), Rivaldo Coetzee (Ajax Cape Town), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Eric Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs), Lorenzo Gordinho (Kaizer Chiefs), Abbubaker Mobara (Orlando Pirates), Tebogo Langerman (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sifiso Hlanti (Wits).


Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier, France), Andile Jali (K.V. Oostende, Belgium), Kamohelo Mokotjo (FC Twente, Netherlands), Dean Furman (SuperSport United), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bongani Zungu (Vitória S.C, Portugal), Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City).


Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns), Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City), Kermit Erasmus (Lens, France), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Mamelodi Sundowns), Tokelo Rantie (Genclerbirligi, Turkey), Thamsanqa Gabuza (Orlando Pirates).